Exploring the mountains……

So this week I pushed my comfort zone by riding in a cable car 270 metres above the valley floor while exploring the Blue Mountains in Australia. While heights are not a problem, small spaces definitely get my fight or flight system going! I’m so glad I did though, it was an amazing view and I got to watch the Three Sisters gradually appearing through the mist. It was such an amazing atmosphere, and it even had a glass bottom in places which only added to it. I would never have seen these views without doing something that made me a bit uncomfortable….and it’s times like this that make me glad I approach things this way.
I also swung my legs over, and sat on the edge of a huge cliff overhang and looked out over the Blue Mountains at Lincoln Rock. Some people were terrified which only made me more determined I’d enjoy it!
On a pain note, I’m having a bit of a flare, and so things like this really make me appreciate the good things. My pain is only one part of my life, and by having a full rest of my life makes it seem so much less important. Sometimes when you focus on something, more than it deserves, you can give it more weight than it deserves. You can allow it to become bigger than it needs to. I hope to continue to give the pain only as much attention and importance as it needs and deserves.
Today I’m grateful for scenery that makes me feel tiny. 🙂

View of cable car from part way down

View of cable car from part way down

270 metres above the valley floor

270 metres above the valley floor

View of the Three Sisters appearing through the mist

View of the Three Sisters appearing through the mist

View through the glass bottom of cable car

View through the glass bottom of cable car

Views from the cable car

Views from the cable car

The edge where I sat and looked out over the Blue Mountains

The edge where I sat and looked out over the Blue Mountains

Leave a Reply

