Taking a leap into the unknown…….

everything-is-a-miracle

This week I stepped out of my comfort zone by dusting off my novel and sending it off to literary agents. Now this isn’t anything unusual, I like to write, and have piles of short stories, essays and even a novel or two tucked away. The difference here is that previously I have always kept my writing to myself. I don’t allow anyone to read it. I just enjoy writing it. It has been incredibly therapeutic in times past when I was recovering from surgery, or limited physically by a pain flare. Up until now that’s been its purpose. So to finally be taking that leap and seeing what comes of it is new…..it’s exciting and nerve racking at the same time.
You see, I have a horrible fear of failure which I regularly have to keep in check. While this is easier with more…..private endeavors, the thought of failing publicly is like torture to me. I have avoided taking that risk until now. Now here we are, discussing my leap into potential failure, or maybe, just maybe, potential exciting prospects.
Now, don’t get me wrong, I don’t have my head in the clouds. I don’t imagine that it’s likely to be picked up immediately, if ever. And I’m sure if it was to become successful in any small way, it would be after many rejections. I hear the stories of struggling “authors”, just as you guys do. But for this very moment, I will enjoy the feeling of taking a giant brave step into the unpredictable unknown. I will enjoy the fact that I was brave enough to put it out there. How deliciously exciting. 
G
P.s. What brave thing did you do this week? No matter how big or how small….I’d love to hear it!

8 thoughts on “Taking a leap into the unknown…….

  1. Good for you! Good luck with the writing and all of your future endeavors. I know exactly how you feel about the rejection part, hearing how difficult it is to get published, etc. I have started many different novels, short essays, stories, poems, etc. (but completed very few of them), that I have in storage here and there in the different states that I have lived. I always gave up too easily because of not feeling exceptional like Virginia Woolf, Mary Shelley, the Bronte’s, or my other favorite British authors, because of the difficulty in getting published, and never being good at the rejection part that goes with it. I can’t wait to get all of my writings back in one place but in the meantime I did start writing again (after decades) last year; and then gave it up again… However with this flare, maybe it did something to my brain (in a good way). I’ve felt more inspired and creative than ever before in all aspects of my different creative interests. Including writing. Hopefully like you, I can make this happen. I know this had to be a huge, scary, but exciting step for you to make but I am so incredibly proud of you. Hopefully you’ll be picked up right away but no matter what, don’t give up on your dreams. I try so hard to look at my disease(s) in different ways to help me feel better about it. Sometimes it works, sometimes not; sometimes it makes sense, sometimes it doesn’t, or maybe it makes just a wee little bit of sense. But I did think once that maybe sometimes we are knocked on our buttocks by these diseases because it’s our body’s way of telling us to slow down, to take a break, to relax, breathe (which can be the hardest thing to do sometimes), to find that peace that at times we miss out on because we’re rushing throughout the day with too much to do and not enough time to do it. But we push ourselves, I know I do. I am my worst critic and toughest authority. I was really afraid that soon I may have to take a Leave of Absence from work but then I thought it I had to, that would be the best thing health wise for me to do right now in so many different ways (all moving towards the same direction of healing), and while taking this break (with the full time doctors visits of course), I would have the time to dedicate more time to writing this new book that has recently been on my mind. Maybe all of my ideas are not yet formed, but I can envision a completed book. I just hope that I don’t let this slip away from me but it’s hard sometimes, I’m sure you know full well, when you have to live day to day, moment by moment, never knowing how full your “energy” tank will be on any given day. I love your positivity and I’m glad that I had a chance to read some of your blogs tonight. Again good luck and keep me posted.
    ~Michelle

    • Thanks so much for your lovely post. I’m glad to hear you are writing again. I find mine serves as very therapeutic in the bad patches….so even if nothing comes of it it’s done some good! Gives me a purpose in the bad patches. :). I love your positive approach to possible time off work and your health….it’s not always easy but I admire it. Was lovely to meet you (virtually), and I’d love to hear more about how the writing’s going as you make the most of the creative streak.

  2. Congratulations and good luck with getting good feedback from the literary agents. I hope it gets picked up for you.
    I’ve started sharing my plans for Foggy Frog and the Pain Gang with larger blogs and organisations in the hope of getting their help when we launch next month! I’m excited but very nervous at the same time.

Leave a Reply

