Make the most of today……….

IMG_209235338697863

This week I pushed myself outside my comfort zone by returning to university to try my hand at my own research. In my undergraduate study it was all coursework and no research, and in order to be able to take the career path I would ideally like, I need to do some of my own research. Something I am not comfortable with at all! It’s unlike anything I’ve ever done before, and daunting to say the very least. I am not comfortable with statistics in any way, shape or form, and yet this is to be a huge part of my life for the next little while.
As anyone with a chronic illness will know, juggling your health in this situation with careers and study is a hard one. Some days I can’t make it in, and some days I do, but the brain fog and distraction of the pain is so great that I’m near to useless. However, there are good days too, and days where I feel so amazed at how far I’ve come and what I’m achieving. I look around the lab and think…..this is me, this is who I am, and I’m very lucky to be able to adapt enough to be able to juggle.
You see what makes me get up and find a way to adapt each day is the feeling that I am lucky. I am lucky that what I enjoy most in this world is to study and learn, and to be able to create a career where I can help others, and that is still possible. I feel thankful that my brain (other than the brain fog) isn’t affected by my health condition. That I can still use it to create a career and a purpose for myself that is so fulfilling.
I remind myself that things could be worse, and that for some people it is. For those people I get out of bed and look at how to make the most of the day. How many times have those of us with a chronic illness or condition heard someone complain about doing something we only wish we could do? And how you’d like to shake them and tell them to make the most of it?
Only the other day, a good friend of mine genuinely complained about how she didn’t want to have to exercise to stay in shape. I literally wanted to shake her and tell her how much I’d give to be able to go for a run without excruciating pain. How I’d love to feel strong and healthy again. While at the same time, a good friend of mine is paralysed from the waist down and is unlikely to ever run again, but who finds different fulfilling outlets without ever complaining.
So, for all those people whose condition stops them from finding ways to adapt, I get out of bed, continue to adapt, and get creative with finding ways to do the things I’d love to do. I carry on.
Today I am thankful for my little ol’ brain. What are you thankful for??

Leave a Reply

